Struggling with salvation…

I have nearly finished that book I have been telling you all about. In fact, I may even read it again because there are some really good key points that I would like to explore a little further. In one part of the book Beresford Job talks about salvation. (To read more about this most intriguing book see HERE.)The reason he does so, is to examine the Lord’s Supper in light of our salvation. Salvation is a three part act; justification, sanctification and glorification.

We have been justified at the moment of salvation, we are being sanctified daily and we look forward to our glorification. Past, present and future.

In his book he deals with all three parts of salvation and it is one part that stood out for me in particular that blessed me and I hope it blesses you too… Glorification!

glorification – is that aspect whereby we are one day going to be delivered not just from the penalty of sin in our lives (which has already occurred for the believer), nor from the power of sin in our lives (which is occurring in the existential moment-by-moment of the here and now), but from its very presence.

How wonderful it will be for us when we are delivered from the very presence of sin when He comes again. Have you ever wondered about that? Its mind boggling isn’t it? I know I have often thought about it. How awful to die in sin and to live in eternity and to be never separated from it… that would be hell, would it not?

I guess this really spoke to me because I understand sin and know it all too well. In fact there was a time not so long ago that I spent being spiritually tortured over how sinful I was (and continue to be). I wondered at how God could love me enough to send His son. I spent years thinking that I wasn’t good enough for that gift. Yet, it is a free gift. Mike Macon talks about extreme Christians. He sees that there are two types of Christian people that struggle, those who are a “Defeatist” and those who are a “Triumphalist”.

I was in the “Defeatist” camp. I hated that camp, I wondered about my security ALL the time. But something happened to me. One day I was in prayer pondering on how God could even care enough for me to send His son to die for me. This is when I asked Him how I could get over this and I was directed to His word.

Was this all about me? No! It was about accepting His word and what He did for me. It had nothing to do with me and everything to do with Him and about His loyalty to His word! It had nothing to do with how I felt about it, but rather how I had to either let God be God and let Him be accountable to His word. What freedom! Then of course I truly understood how I was set free from the burden of sin. This was truly a revelation to me…

Eph 2:4  But God, who is rich in mercy, because of his great love for us
Eph 2:5  even when we were dead because of our offenses, made us alive together with Christ (by grace you have been saved),
Eph 2:6  raised us up with him, and seated us with him in the heavenly realm in Christ Jesus,
Eph 2:7  so that in the coming ages he might display the limitless riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus.
Eph 2:8  For by such grace you have been saved through faith. This does not come from you; it is the gift of God

So I guess this post is about a personal revelation that God told me about and I wanted to share it with you. I would dearly love to hear how you feel about your salvation and whether or not you struggle with it.

So it’s over to you…

4 thoughts on “Struggling with salvation…

  1. Wonderful post Vee 🙂 I too spent so much time in the defeatist camp and for the same reasons. What a torment that was to me to feel that there was no hope for me because of my (post salvation) sins. I had no trouble knowing God forgave me of my sins before I got saved… but the ones after! Eventually after years of struggling with assurance I came to a place (thank you God), where his still small voice boomed into my despair and said… “Abide in me”. I could cry a river now just thinking about it!
    I still struggle now and then with it but I claim God’s word when the devil comes against me. He is faithful and true; my rock of salvation!
    Ahhh, what a wonderful subject. I could go on and on… Thankfully because of Jesus I will get too… in heaven!! yay 🙂

    Like

    • Wow Lorrie! I wonder if those who stay in the defeatist camp eventually lose their faith? Thinking too much about how unworthy we are is pretty much a me, me, me attitude in a way isn’t it? It is elevating self over God which is not what we are suppose to do. Our sins are not greater or bigger than He is! Praise God for that, otherwise there is NO hope for any of us 🙂

      Like

  2. It’s totally a “me” attitude and full of pride to think that we are too much for Him!! That’s crazy! Not sure if someone could eventually lose their faith.. I know I never did. I do believe that once someone is (re)born that they cannot be unborn but what a shame not to enjoy the wonderful personal and intimate relationship that is ours in Jesus!! No joy outside of that 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.