Giving – where do you want your reward???

317683_1_e9135bRecently on FB there has been a plethora of woman posting selfies without makeup. It’s a campaign for raising money for breast cancer, and certainly awareness is a good thing. I have seen so many woman from all ages doing this. I think donating money is a GREAT thing to do, but I do have a small problem with the concept.
One problem I have is one that is shared by a young feminist, Yomi Adegoke…‘I didn’t agree with the campaign’s original format, which was simply people writing, “no makeup selfie” without including donations or link to charities,’ said Miss Adeogoke on the news and current affairs programme. ‘But if women not wearing makeup is deemed as brave when held against cancer, it does say quite a bit about society today.‘I know the campaign was to normalise women not wearing makeup, but to suggest that by doing so is being exposing and leaving somebody vulnerable, that is problematic.’ [source]
If you go to the sourced link above, the comments are really interesting.
The other problem I have with it is simply a biblical concept about giving…
“So when you give to the poor, do not sound a trumpet before you, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and in the streets, so that they may be honored by men. Truly I say to you, they have their reward in full. “But when you give to the poor, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, so that your giving will be in secret; and your Father who sees what is done in secret will reward you.” Matthew 6:2-4

If I get tagged to put a selfie up with no makeup (which by the way, I have MANY photos of myself without makeup, so that’s NOT the issue) I won’t be doing it. And if I donate, that is between my and MY Lord.

