The ‘transgender’ problem

homosexuality-thumb.jpg

I have just read a very interesting paper on gender dysphoria and people who consider themselves to be transgender. It’s not that long, and well worth the read. Here’s the blurb…

 

Dr Paul McHugh has written: “It is not obvious how this [gender dysphoria] patient’s feeling that he is a woman trapped in a man’s body differs from the feeling of a patient with anorexia nervosa that she is obese despite her emaciated, cachectic state. We don’t do liposuction on anorexics.
“We saw the results as demonstrating that just as these men enjoyed cross-dressing as women before the operation so they enjoyed cross-living after it. But they were no better in their psychological integration or any easier to live with… I concluded that Hopkins was fundamentally cooperating with a mental illness. We psychiatrists, I thought, would do better to concentrate on trying to fix their minds and not their genitalia. [PDF source]

10 thoughts on “The ‘transgender’ problem

  1. Excellent example to put things in context! Not everything one ‘feels’ is right or appropriate for them. If we all start to act our feelings, we know where that would end. Living in a civilized manner calls for restraint , especially of tendencies that have consequences for that person or for others. Pushing the boundaries and blurring the lines dilutes values that have held society together for ages

    Like

  2. I am unsure as to the validity of the science. I am sure God created Man and Woman, and that genital mutilation does not change one’s chromosomes – sex but can affect how others see your gender. I am a christian who lives simply – no alcohol, no drugs – even frequently abstaining from caffeine. I pray and read scripture every day. I follow sabbath. I don’t watch tv or even many movies – too much lust and violence. But I am a male to female transsexual and am very concerned about my salvation. I am celibate. I take no hormones. No makeup. my jewelry is a ring signifying marriage to Yeshua and a watch. I have repented the decision I made over and over but am terrified and unsure how to proceed. I have read isaiah 56.3 and mat 19.11 12 and know there is hope for a eunuch – I had my testicles removed 12 years ago. But I have breasts and though I act very naturally – ie drive a backhoe but no one who meets me treats me as anything other than a biological female. I revealed all this to the pastor of the church I am considering joining but still I fear. My situation is complex – to the authorities I am a female. I have faced persecution from this – I don’t fear persecution. I have stopped wearing skirts and dresses – pants and tee shirts only, no bra. But I do not own a single article of men’s clothing and would just appear as a dyke if I tried to wear men’s clothing. I keep asking God for help to give me an idea as to how to resolve this. Do I say I am now a eunuch? This is an old concept and though there are many eunuchs in the bible and a place for them in heaven – what clothes does a eunuch wear? And do I go around correcting everyone who calls me a she? Or writes down my name as Mrs.? To make things interesting I have been a type 1 diabetic for 44 years, kidney failure, double organ transplant, heart attacks, pneumonias, pancreatitus, peritonitis, blindness in one eye etc etc. My life has not always been easy and this – transsexualism has been the worst.
    How do I not continue to sin? Does a eunuch wearing female clothes constitute a sin? Does the deception of my gender constitute lying – though people get the wrong ideas about people often by what they see, I ‘fool’ every one all the time.
    Please can anyone guide me?

    Like

    • Jamie, your story is truly heartbreaking! I really don’t know if I am in the position to advice you in any way other than to keep you eyes on The Lord, and know that he is able to comfort the broken. We are considered a peculiar people, those of us who have been born again. And if you have truly been born of the spirit and have understood the forgiveness of all manner of sins, then you are a new creation. If you are wearing pants and tee shirts, there is nothing wrong with that. Yes, people may be a little confused when they meet you, but you have a testimony to share about how you once lived in sin but have been made new in Christ!

      I know of a man called Sy Rogers, he was only a few weeks away from having a sex change to become a woman when he became born again! I think he has a website called Exodus, perhaps you could google that and see if there is anyone from that organisation that could help you.

      But please remember that you are made whole in Christ, and that you are forgiven, and that to walk the Christian walk, in the Way,miss to be obedient to Him. We all have our own thorn in our flesh, and we can pray for daily strength as we need it.

      God bless you Jamie. You will be in my prayers!

      Vee

      Like

  3. HI Vee, HI Jamie, I often wonder about the idea of the TRUTH – you shall know the truth and the truth shall set you free – that is the truth about Christ. John 8. The truth is about Christ primarily, your situation is unique, consider: Psalm 94: 9-10 He who planted the ear, does he not hear?
    He who formed the eye, does he not see?
    * from me: He who has a mind for understanding, compassion, Love, forgiveness, does he not do all of these? I would consider being a speaker, one who can help those who are confused by their gender difficulties, this may help you as well, but do this prayerfully, this is a very difficult position to be and and you know how you feel, perhaps there are more out there like you and perhaps you would help or prevent someone from making a similar error…. I hope and pray for you Jamie, that the lord will give you strength to face every day, however humble you feel before the Lord, you may be more humble than any of us and the Lord would prefer that we are all humble and treat one another as we would like to be treated. Hugs.

    Like

  4. Good article and great discussion. Vee I love your response to Jamie. Hello Jamie!! My heart really goes out to you… such challenges. I am so very glad that God knows us inside and out. The whole person. His mercy and grace are impossible for us to fully comprehend. He knows those who are His.

    I may wonder if we met whether to greet you as brother or sister but not the Lord, if you are His then I believe He says… “my child”. He knows YOU. I truly believe and hope that you will find Christian fellowship that will bless, encourage and guide you.

    I have so many wonderful friends. Some are disabled but I no longer see their disability because this is not the core of their identity. I see WHO they are. I have friends of many colors and cultures… again, because they are real and true, we find no difficulties between us. I have a cousin who is blind. She can’t make assumptions by first impression alone. She sees who a person IS though! I guess I say all that to say that if you are Christ’s then you are loved and others will be drawn to you for you!

    I will be praying for you Jaime, that you will stay the narrow road with your eyes on His light; that you will know the comfort of his rod (He corrects those he loves – His children) and His staff – that crook of the Shepherd’s that rescues those who trust in Him!! I pray that he will guard you against deception and that He will intervene in your daily life, captivating you with his love and everlasting kindness. Stay the course with your eyes on Him and He will direct you and lead you into His perfect will. Very exciting. We can never imagine the good things He lays in store for us!!

    I pray these things for myself as well. All God’s children struggle with sin. We are all fighting a fight and long to hear those wonderful words… “well done, good and faithful servant”.

    Blessings to you Jamie.

    Like

    • Some loving and very well thought out comments. God does not look at our outward appearances but at our inner thoughts and desires, normally referred to as our ‘heart’. Clothes are outer decorations and a personal choice, although they do say what we think inwardly but what is more important is whether we are happy with how God has made us because if we are not then we are rebelling against our Creator. When we come to Him in humble submission, then he is able to fulfill His purpose for us and enables us to do amazing things. Our past desires are nothing compared to what He can do with us.
      Jamie, forget the past – yes, it will take time – and move forward with God as you are, no more ‘disabled’ than many people. He loves you as you are.
      I have a Christian name which over the years has become a female name, therefore I am often referred to as female until people meet me. It does not worry me as that is just a human mistake and I know who I am, I child of God made in His image. I am sure that you will win this battle for the mind.
      Every blessing in Christ.

      Like

  5. Lovely responses from both, Linda and Lorrie for you Jamie. I don’t think I can add anything further, and I agree with everything that has been said here. But you can be sure that there will by prayers of support for you, Jamie. Rest in the Lord my friend.

    Like

  6. Jamie.

    Brother, what a blessing to hear about your repentance and acknowledgement of sin and your commitment to the Lord. I agree with Vee that the T-shirt and pants don’t constitute a problem. You do have a testimony and it is possible the Lord might use you to help others refrain from doing the surgery. One day you will get a new resurrection body hallelujah. I rejoice in hearing your testimony because it is indicative that with the Lord there is hope for the lost.

    It seems that because of your health issues removing the breasts would be no option but you have shown your repentance in not dressing as a woman. As for the practicalities to what you say concerning people’s impressions of you, I don’t think there are easy answers. Prayerfully your correcting people’s impressions may not be primarily about correcting their impressions but an opportunity to share the gospel but in practice it is difficult to say how or when. However still bear in mind that these are opportunities to serve the Lord though they come in the guise of trials and persecutions. But it is wonderful to hear of your fearlessness. The Lord will reward you, he is your reward. Be strong bro.

    In Yeshua.

    Salvi

    Like

  7. I would like to thank all of you for your loving words and insights. I know that God loves me and that I am, if not on the Way at least getting closer to the Way. Today on sabbath morning it was wonderful to see so many christians filled with love.

    I will consider your words and continue reading scripture.

    Praise Yeshua!

    Like

Comments are closed.