Things to ponder on…

Someone asked me recently why would God come down as a human? Here’s the answer…

He was tempted in every way, just as we are…yet was without sin. Hebrews 4:15. Therefore in all of our sorrows we have his sympathy. He knows them all….temptations, pain weakness, weariness, poverty…for He has felt them all. He in His Holiness past the test of temptation. His way was much rougher and darker than mine. Did Christ, my dear lord, suffer? Should I still whine? [John Newton]. Jesus came to earth to identify with us in our humanity so we could identify with him in his holiness. He came as 100% human so we could identify with Him, and He came 100% as God, so that we could know Holiness.

Then they asked why would God punish us when we do wrong if He is so loving. The answer is this. He is a Father. A good Father would rather discipline his children and raise them in a way that is better and more righteous. Would you rather be with children who have never been disciplined? Don’t those children end up being self absorbed, me, me, me…. kids who have no idea of consequences or responsibility.

