Grafted in!

First let me say that I have not been very well of late, but I reckon that I am on the road to recovery! I had bronchitis and it lingered on for close to three weeks. But today, I feel sooo much better.

Because I have been sick I have not really had the energy to suss things out and to read as much as I usually do, but I have had something niggling at me about a certain teacher.

Most of you have heard of John Piper. As some of you know I wrote a post a few days ago about a quote of his that I found on Facebook which I later deleted. This post would have been emailed out to those of you who subscribe and so you possibly know what I am talking about. But I actually pulled the post because I just couldn’t cope with the possible backlash from it. The quote from Piper was one that had a lot of people talking and was in my opinion, in poor taste. The analogy he made was either said in haste, or said for shock factor, or maybe  to sound relevant. Who knows? All I know is that it shocked me and I was NOT alone!

Over the last few days I have had a very dear friend of mine write to me and say that she has been struggling with John Piper for sometime now, and then lo and behold, she found a very revealing post that I am going to share with you today.

The post that I am going to share with you reveals something about John Piper that I didn’t know about (I guess because I haven’t read all that much from him). There are some of you who do read his works but have not a clue about where he stands on a very important issue.

That issue is in regards to Israel, and Israel’s prophetic importance yet to be worked out.

John Piper has never been endorsed by Jacob Prasch of Moriel Ministries, of which I have the utmost respect for. I know there are many readers out there who feel the same about Jacob Prasch as I do. Jacob Prasch has publicly stated that he in no way endorses John Piper because of his “Replacement Theology” which of course derives from Reformed Calvinist doctrine.

The author of the following post that I am going to share with you approached John Piper and had a few questions for Piper that you may find interesting…

After all, Dr. Piper had gone on record saying that he considers the Jewish people “a non-covenant-keeping people” without divine right to the land promised to the descendants of Abraham (see this article). But after hearing him publicly disparage God’s faithfulness to the Jewish people (i.e., by implying that historical Israel is of no real significance), my heart grieved deeply. After much prayer, I decided it was time for me to personally meet with him to discuss his views of the Jewish people and ethnic Israel. The following are just a few remarks about that meeting….[read the rest of this interesting post HERE]

In the post that I have linked to, you will find that Piper is a staunch Calvinist who actually says something very strange and is very unbiblical regarding God’s covenant with Abraham. If you want to know more about where Piper stands on Israel, the Church and the New Covenant then you simply must go this link and read all about it.
Jer 31:31 Behold the days shall come, saith the Lord, and I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel, and with the house of Judah
Rom 11:17 But if some of the branches were broken off, and you, being a wild olive tree were grafted in among them, and became a sharer of the root and the fatness of the olive tree,
Rom 11:18 do not boast against the branches. But if you do boast, it is not you that bears the root, but the root bears you.

15 thoughts on “Grafted in!

  1. Grace and HIS Peace and good health to you Vee! Yes i’m very aware of John Piper, by the Grace of The LORD. i can truly say it is because of Jacob Prasch, i Praise our LORD for such faithful men! Amen. Some people are paying attention in this Country (US) it is only a small amount, so sorry to say. World View Weekend.com is one of a few sites that i listen to everyday. Noise of Thunder (Chris Pinto)is another site that i read and listen to. “The Founding Fathers” and other DVD’s that he has done are helping the “Remnant”. If there are any people that care about the truth of American History. Roger Oakland “Understand The Times.com is also very aware of the facts that Chris Pinto has known for a long time. G-D’s Grace…and more grace to those that wait for HIS Return while praying to stay faithful to the ONE that loved us.

    Like

      • Thanks Zee, and i also pray for my G-D to bless my family members…for none of them are saved. My opinion is that because of the Pre Trib view of the Rapture that is believed, that in it self is causing alot of trouble. i’m not Pre Wrath but i’m absolutly have the understanding that the Remnant of true believers will know who the anti-christ is. Thes. 2:3 could not be any clearer. If the ones that stay In Christ, Christ Yeshua Jesus will let us know who THE anti christ is before we are Raptured out of this evil world. By G-D’s Grace and Mercy by getting Hebrew understand of Prophesy, is a Pattern,not the Hellenistic one that many are being tought by good Pastors, “not the Hirelings”, G-D is shaking them like a House of Cards! “Praise The LORD!”

        Like

        • The Hebrew understanding of prophecy is the key isn’t it. Yes I believe the true Church will know who the anti-Christ is without any doubt. We are only just starting to learn the many paths that lead to the anti-Christ’s kingdom. We have, for many years, been taught that it will be Rome that will lead us into the anti-Christ’s kingdom, but that is only one facet of a multifaceted issue. Pattern is key, shadows are key; a recapitulation of events that lead to the ultimate fulfillment.

          I will keep you and your family members in my prayers. I also have family members who have not been saved, or they have lost their way and have fallen for the deception that God has allowed to clean out His house.

          Like

        • Amen Zee to all that you have written. i do pray that the ones that Know the real Jesus,The LORD G-D of Israel, that had Mercy on me, will have Mercy and Give HIS Amazing Grace to them also. If they don’t believe they are sinners…they will never know how Amazing Grace is. Amen

          Like

      • WorldViewWeekend.com…Radio program. July 6th. it is about Piper, Waren and so much more

        Like

  2. So sorry to hear you’ve been suffering with bronchitis, Vee. Glad to hear your bouncing back.

    Replacement theology is one of the most disturbing teachings in Christendom. Its potential to seriously diminish the sensitivity of Christians toward the Jewish people in these very hard days is only going to increase, together with general antisemitism worldwide. It’s not difficult to see where this is heading, is it?

    I recently ordered Schindler’s List on DVD, thinking my 14 yr. old son might be ready to see it. I’ve been watching it by myself over the weekend (and, no, he’s not ready yet) and it’s hard to imagine it getting worse than that. I have no doubt that many, many true Christians were just too scared to lift a finger. I pray that should it happen again during my lifetime (God forbid), I would not be afraid to stick my neck out for them.

    Like

    • Hi Pearl,

      Nice to hear from you. You are right on about antisemitism being on the rise. I have recently seen two very quick youtubes of Rev Stephen Sizer and who he quotes and who he shares a platform with; holocaust deniers and people who want to be rid of Israel altogether! I may post them this week with a new blog that Carla (from more books and things) told me about.

      I just wish that people would realise that to be anti-Zionist is actually a politically correct term for being an anti-Semite. The roots of such things are the same.

      I pray for the same thing Pearl. Lord give us strength when it is needed!

      God bless

      Vee

      Like

    • More and more Grace to you Pearl in The Name of our LORD. We need it now and always “Till HE Comes!”. Amen…i know i need it!HE will give us the ticket when it is time to get on the Train, paraphrase from Corrie tem Boom, something her Dad said to her.

      Like

      • I just wish that people would realise that to be anti-Zionist is actually a politically correct term for being an anti-Semite.

        Yep. As with all politically correct lingo, up is really down. I love that picture you found, btw. Absolutely perfect!

        Hi, Gloria. Wasn’t Corrie and Betsie’s father a wonderful, wise man? I think about his words often and am counting on that ticket…

        Thank you so much for your very kind blessing. All the more to you and yours.

        Like

    • Well it was you Lorrie that directed me to the post about John Piper and his replacement theology! I could hardly ignore this news because there are so many teachers out there who are doing the very thing that Romans tells us not to do.

      By the way girls…. If you haven’t already done so you simply must check out Lorrie’s blog http://growupdeep.blogspot.com/ It’s beautifully written with wonderful insight and it is clear that Lorrie has a wonderful heart for the Lord and for His body!

      Like

      • I’m totally onto Lorrie’s blog! A great place to be encouraged and challenged by her own lovely writings. I’ve been blessed many times.

        Like

  3. i just got on Lorrie’s e-mail list. i know there are others also that love The LORD and HIS Body. i’m so very very pleased and grateful to know two more. Amen

    Like

  4. Pingback: Are we reaching that fullness? « Living Journey

Comments are closed.