Soft words harden the heart…

In my last post I briefly spoke about liberal theology and how we have a real need to get back to the basic fundamentals of the bible. I was feeling very low about what is happening in the visible church today, and I am sure I will always feel down about it. But then Steve wrote a comment that is worth sharing here in this post…

Hi Vee

I came across a quote from FB Meyer & old time respected preacher from the early 1900s. Check out info about him on wiki.

‘Then Abram removed his tent, and came and dwelt in the plain of Mamre, which is in Hebron, and built there an altar unto the LORD’ (Genesis 13:18)
“It is often argued that we should stay in the midst of churches and bodies whose sins and follies we deplore, in the hope of saving them for God and mankind. Such reasoning has a good deal of force in the first stages of decline. A strong protest may arrest error and stop the gangrene.

“But as time advances, and the whole body becomes diseased; when the protests have been disregarded, and the arguments trampled underfoot; when the majorityhave clearly taken up their position against the truth–we have no alternative but to come out and be separate.

“The place from which we can exert the strongest influence for good is not from within, but from without.

“Lot lost all influence of his life in Sodom; but Abraham, from the heights of Mamre, was able to exert a mighty influence on its history.”
F.B. Meyer (1847-1929)

For me this spoke volumes and succinctly expressed what I see is happening today. Then later on I came across a post called “Soft Preaching Produces Hard Hearts” which is really worth a read to understand what is happening…

The soft words preached to them in their churches only harden their hearts to believe these lies and become more and more hostile to the real Gospel, which, when they do hear it, seems so harsh and mean.

4 thoughts on “Soft words harden the heart…

  1. Hi Vee

    I agreed mostly with the writer regarding his comments, but I like balance. Cold, bold deterministic theology I believe only re invents the Catholic church all over again. The Gospel message is simple, but profound.

    For God so loved (VEE) that He gave His only begotten Son, that if (VEE) believes in Him she will not perish but have everlasting life.

    The Why of love Starts with John 3:16;. the How is put into a nut shell by Paul in 1 Cor 15:1-8.

    steve

    Like

  2. I love F.B. Meyer, and have posted a few things by him over at my blog as well. One sermon of his really touched me, called “Marred, So He Made it Again”, from which I merely extracted portions. A great preacher from the past indeed.

    Thanks for this great quote, Steve (and Vee for bringing attention to it).

    Like

  3. I really like the article you linked us to. I had never thought of hardness of heart being a consequence of soft teaching. Makes perfect sense though. It also makes me think of the David Wilkerson sermon I posted on my FB last night titled “A Call to Anguish” (youtube).

    Blessings Vee 🙂

    Like

    • I really like the article too. I just watched that video last night, and it was so good, but not in a feel-good way. His sermons always shine the light on my sins, and cause me to ask forgiveness. That is my definition of a good sermon, the conviction of the Holy Spirit.

      Like

Comments are closed.