Obedience, I can do that… I think?

I was catching up on some friends on Facebook today. I have all sorts of friends, saved, unsaved, atheists, Jehovah Witnesses, and everything in between. Some people write really good things about God on Facebook, while others profane and speak about things that are not repeatable here. Yet, I will remain friends with them because Jesus Himself dined and supped with tax collectors and prostitutes.  He said that … It is not the healthy who needs a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous but the sinners to repentance.  The world needs to hear and to be convicted so I try and do my bit. It’s hard sometimes I must admit.

But I have to say, it is those who speak about the goodness of God that really help me to keep my eyes on Him.

One such person is Lorrie from ‘Grow up Deep’ (love that title Lorrie, very profound). About a day ago she posted something that I wanted to share with you, and I really hope that you may want to share something here at Living Journey. You can do so anonymously if you so wish, but I would love to get feedback on this.

Here is what Lorrie shared, it was something from Oswald Chambers…

By the discipline of obedience I get to the place where Abraham was and I see Who God is. I never have a real God until I have come face to face with Him in Jesus Christ, then I know that “in all the world, my God, there is none but Thee, t…here is none but Thee.” The promises of God are of no value to us until by obedience we understand the nature of God. We read some things in the Bible three hundred and sixty-five times and they mean nothing to us, then all of a sudden we see what God means, because in some particular we have obeyed God, and instantly His nature is opened up. “All the promises of God in Him are yea, and in Him Amen.” The “yea” must be born of obedience; when by the obedience of our lives we say “Amen” to a promise, then that promise is ours.

First, can I just say WOW!

Second I will explain what I got from the above quote.

I remember around ten or so years ago I was struggling with my faith. I asked God where are you in my life? I knew He existed because I couldn’t deny Him as being not God, yet I felt He was not present in my life. I was desperate, in a valley so to speak. I was walking in the shadow of death, and I knew it.

Then He answered… he just replied “be obedient and trust in My Word”. That is where my journey began. I wanted to know His Word and actually hear it, I wanted it to be alive to me! Being told by God to be obedient was for me like a father telling a child to be obedient. I felt scolded… but I knew He was right. There was nowhere to hide from Him, He would find out my innermost thoughts. Which to this day I hate, and I freely admit that. I struggle daily to keep myself in check. I do find it very hard when my faith is not shared by every member in my family. I guess that is why I love my friends here at Living Journey and on Facebook.

So I guess the above quote by Oswald Chambers really spoke to me and reminded me of my past. My past is something I should never forget because I really don’t want to be in that valley again.  It frightens me to think that because of human nature there is a real possibility that it could happen again. Oh woe is me!

But on a personal note… I would just like to thank those of you who come to this blog full of encouragement. And I would like to thank those of you on Facebook that do little status updates that encourage and edify the bride. We ALL need that, especially as the hour is getting late. Don’t you all feel that the world and all that is sinful is becoming stronger… or is that just me? I feel a little weary sometimes, but in that weakness and with my admitting that… I know that is the first step to putting on the full armour of God. It’s most definitely a spiritual thing isn’t it!

So, in obedience I begin again and again and again. Each day, it never ends. Working out my salvation in fear and trembling.

Php 2:12  So then, my beloved, even as ye have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling;
Php 2:13  for it is God who worketh in you both to will and to work, for his good pleasure.

If I keep on keeping on, I know that I will be made stronger for it. How wonderful is it that the spirit intercedes for me when I have no words. Thank God for His Spirit who counsels us and shapes us as we trudge through this world tainted in evil and sin…

Rom 8:23  However, not only creation groans, but we who have the first fruits of the Spirit also groan inwardly as we eagerly wait for our adoption, the redemption of our bodies.
Rom 8:24  For we were saved with this hope in mind. Now hope that is seen is not really hope, for who hopes for what can be seen?
Rom 8:25  But if we hope for what we do not see, we eagerly wait for it with patience.
Rom 8:26  In the same way, the Spirit also helps us in our weakness, for we do not know how to pray as we should. But the Spirit himself intercedes with groans too deep for words.

Thank God for His Spirit and His Word that guides us towards the Truth found in Jesus and what He did on the cross.

I really hope that you share something here that helps build and edify His Church. Or perhaps you want to share what God has shown you in your walk along the narrow path, the good or the bad. Or maybe you have a friend or family member that needs prayer… you don’t need to name names but you may want to put out a prayer request. It’s totally up to you.

Sincerely

Vee

5 thoughts on “Obedience, I can do that… I think?

  1. I too have times of strugglings,but I just trust in the Lord as he knows me as no one else does. He said he would never leave us or forsake us,and with that I rest on him.

    Like

  2. Aww, the struggles of the brethren are common indeed! He disciplines his children rather than leave and forsake them. I am so grateful because I’m a huge work in progress… stubborn and prideful by nature and just down right dim-witted at times!
    I’ve had a copy of Oswald Chambers forever and it seems to be the devotional (and more recently Spurgeon too) that speaks to me the most…I pick it up again and again. It’s not a bunch of fluff.., it’s meat and fire which is what I am always starving for.
    As a very small child I believed in God. I came that way it seems to me. I have never doubted who He is or that the Word is truth. I got saved in Highschool but didn’t really understand the depth of my choice… I made it in an impulsive moment … I new the message was true. I was like a little child… who wouldn’t want Jesus?!? I sprang up fast with no real root in me. Afterwards, I made huge mistakes that nearly pierced my soul through. There was a long period when my relationship with the Father was estranged. BUT, He never left me. I always felt his presence and His wooing. Then there came a day when more than anything on the planet, I wanted a real relationship with my Abba!
    Now it SEEMED that I was underneath the floor of heaven banging with my fists to be let in. I could still sense His presence but I felt like a person unacknowledged… like He didn’t want to look at me. This was a time of personal torment for me. My own conscience was condemning me.
    One day I was driving to work. Hubby and I had had an argument and I was still hurt (this was before he was saved). I was crying out to God… “He doesn’t love me… if he loved me he wouldn’t treat me like he does!” and I sobbed.
    As plain as day, in my spirit, I heard God say… “yes, I know just how you feel.”
    Needless to say, in that moment I was humbled and enlightened in a way that’s hard to express. Suddenly, we were “face to face”.. but not for long. My face was spiritually face down on the floor!! I cried.. “What can I do Lord, what can I do to make things right?” He simply responded by telling me to abide in Him. Three simple words…and I took the deepest bestest breath ever to pass through my body and soul!
    Today, I still struggle, I want to grow up deep in Him 🙂 I’ve asked Him a lot to please show me what my gift is and how I can use it for His glory. He tells me… “Be faithful in the little things Lorrie.” At first, I felt somewhat let down by that word. I wanted something neat and fabulous!
    You know what… little did I know (and still don’t understand the depths of it all) just how wonderful that command is. It’s hard work, it’s a challenge and through obedience it brings and keeps me close to Him… a real and tangible relationship! Obedience… it’s a joy… \o/

    Thank you Vee for Living Journey… it is such a blessing to me!

    Like

    • WOW Lorrie! What a testimony. Abiding in Him is a daily, minute by minute, second by second willful act. It’s hard to do because our flesh is weak…

      Mat 26:41 Watch and pray, that ye enter not into temptation: the spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.

      Thanks again for your words. It’s clear that anyone who is a born again Christian cannot go through life without going through trials and tribulations. If any Christian says that they have always been in step with God they are not being truthful or perhaps are not growing in Christ.

      This growing up is a lifetime of ebbs and flows. It is so hard sometimes, but I guess if we recognise that we are having a hard time of it, then we know that the Spirit of God still speaks and He is still active in our lives.

      I have to say Lorrie, you have been a blessing to me also. I look forward to your encouraging words and I can’t wait to meet you, if not in this life, in eternity when we are all able to sit around the throne of God and not be burdened by the carnality of life here on earth.

      Thanks again 😀

      Like

Comments are closed.