What does Salvation look like?

I encourage you to take a look at Pearl’s latest post called…Salvation by Major W. Ian Thomas. It will really make you think about your salvation and how it should reflect in your life. It certainly made me think.

Daily I struggle with the world and all its carnality. Sometimes I feel like giving it all up, but I know I can’t because I can’t deny the Holy Spirit who dwells inside me. I often wonder… if I did deny the Holy Spirit’s indwelling, would this be considered ‘blasphemy of the Holy Spirit’? I think so. Or maybe I have got that all wrong. I don’t know.

Anyway, after going over to Pearl’s post about Salvation I was reminded about my daily struggle which then brought up some verses that really speak about this (to me anyway)…

Php 2:12  So then, my beloved, even as ye have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling;
Php 2:13  for it is God who worketh in you both to will and to work, for his good pleasure.

Php 3:12  Not that I have already obtained, or am already made perfect: but I press on, if so be that I may lay hold on that for which also I was laid hold on by Christ Jesus.
Php 3:13  Brethren, I count not myself yet to have laid hold: but one thing I do, forgetting the things which are behind, and stretching forward to the things which are before,
Php 3:14  I press on toward the goal unto the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.
Php 3:15  Let us therefore, as many as are perfect, be thus minded: and if in anything ye are otherwise minded, this also shall God reveal unto you:
Php 3:16  only, whereunto we have attained, by that same rule let us walk.

I guess the good thing is, after I went to Pearl’s post I was challenged. Now that must be a good thing right? It’s not an easy thing to be challenged in your walk is it? But at least I know that means I have a teachable spirit and that I am willing to bend down in submission.

So… here I go, another day, another day of walking and remembering the cross as I trudge along.

2 thoughts on “What does Salvation look like?

  1. That’s a good word. Challenges and convicts me too. Life is hard, no doubt. I struggle all the time. Today! There is no “giving it all up” though. We know the truth now and we can’t un-know it. I’ve lived in that backslidden state before and it’s hell on earth. The memories of it cause most of my struggles. I would never ever want to go there again! Nevertheless, I know what you are saying. Thankfully our wonderful Lord Jesus knows how frail we are and He is full of grace and mercy and never ending love. “It” is a person and when I can remember that I wonder how I could ever feel like giving up.

    Like

    • Well said Lorrie. I am sure that most Christians if they are honest about their walk would feel the exact same thing is you and I at some point. If they haven’t then I would be worried to be honest with you. Growing up in the Lord we are bound to make major mistakes, like children do. I guess the first step is knowing that you have made them.

      Like

Comments are closed.