What Poem Do You Come From?

On the HighCalling website there are often prompts for aspiring poets and photographers that are absolutely inspiring. I wanted to find out what the latest poetry prompt entailed. So, off I go to the site to find out that it’s about the following…

So where do you come from? For next Friday’s Random Act of Poetry (I’m subbing for the inestimable L.L. Barkat), select a poem you first read in high school or college that had an impact on you, that you remember or that you enjoyed, and write a poem about it.

Ooooh… that sounded exciting, I can hardly wait to see what other people write about their favourite poems! 

Unfortunately I didn’t learn about any particular poet in school. In fact, I wasn’t much interested in literature back then. My how things have changed. I am on a big learning curve, one that has me experimenting with the written word in ways that I’ve never done before. I have always liked writing poetry despite the fact that I feel that I am not much good at it. I will give it a shot anyway.

Today, I picked the poem ‘Once by the Ocean’ by Robert Frost. When I read his poem I was reminded of the boxing day tsunami. I was also reminded of how the earth – God’s creation – is groaning under the wages of sin found in the book of Romans. The other thing I thought about was of the great deluge at the time of Noah and how we live in an age not too unlike his.

These three reminders I wanted to pull together somehow in poetry. I am not sure I succeeded, you be the judge!

So, here we go, here is another shot at it. Hope you like them 🙂

Here is the poem by Robert Frost…

 

Once By The Ocean – Robert Frost

The shattered water made a misty din.

Great waves looked over others coming in,

And thought of doing something to the shore

That water never did to land before.

The clouds were low and hairy in the skies,

Like locks blown forward in the gleam of eyes.

You could not tell, and yet it looked as if

The shore was lucky in being backed by cliff,

The cliff in being backed by continent;

It looked as if a night of dark intent

Was coming, and not only a night, an age.

Someone had better be prepared for rage.

There would be more than ocean-water broken

Before God’s last Put out the light was spoken.

Rough Seas by Joseph Mallord Turner

I have written two poems the first one is called ‘Tsunami’. It is written in a style called ‘Name Poetry’ which basically means “A Name Poem, or Acrostic Poem,  tells about the word. It uses the letters of the word for the first letter of each line.”

 

Tsunami

 

treacherous and untamed the wall came in

Surrendering all within its path

underlying earth opened its mouth to spew forth

nothing this earth had seen before

ancient groans of a primal roar

meeting the fallen on earth’s edge

ill;  the world’s fall from grace

 

The second one is written in the “Cinquain Poetry”…Cinquain Poetry Type has five lines.

Line 1 is one word (the title)
Line 2 is two words that describe the title.
Line 3 is three words that tell the action
Line 4 is four words that express the feeling
Line 5 is one word that recalls the title

 

Water

Waves, Wall

Strong, Untamed, Unyielding

Awe, Fear, Defeated, Surrendered

Baptism

So, there you go. I hope you enjoy my poetry as much as I love writing it. I hope I remain on this wonderful wave of written word…. hahaha, I have just used another technique called alliteration. Go me!!!

9 thoughts on “What Poem Do You Come From?

  1. awww, thanks for your encouragement Lorrie. It means a lot, especially coming from you.
    You are brilliant with words 😀
    Xxx

    Like

  2. Pingback: Random Acts of Poetry: The Poems We Come From

Comments are closed.