How does your belt feel?

Last night wasn’t a good night for me because little Oliver is pretty sick and so is his mum at the moment. Both have a very bad cold bordering on the flu. So I prepared all the tools needed for a long sleepless night. This was going to be a long night time battle for all of us. But I was prepared. Pain relief was ready, bottles were ready, nappies were ready, the phone and phone numbers were at hand in case of an emergency. I really felt like I was about to enter into the battlefield.

In the few quite moments I had between cries of pain and wiping runny noses, I went on Facebook and found that John Ankerberg  wrote something that really spoke to me.  I knew it was something that I wanted to get back to when I had the chance…

If the Bible is clear on anything, it is that Christians are responsible to love God with all our minds and certainly part of this involves thinking critically. Indeed, to love God with all our minds is "the greatest commandment" God has given: "Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the first and greatest commandment" (Mt. 22:37)

So this morning, I looked up the commentary for this verse and found that the Barnes commentary explains a bit more about how to love God with all of your mind…

With all thy mind To submit the “intellect” to his will. To love his law and gospel more than we do the decisions of our own minds. To be willing to submit all our faculties to his teaching and guidance, and to devote to him all our intellectual attainments and all the results of our intellectual efforts. [Barnes]

I found that quite challenging especially in this day and age when there is the tendency to dumb down the Word of God!

Loving God with all your mind then led me to another  verse…

1Pe 1:13  Wherefore girding up the loins of your mind, be sober and set your hope perfectly on the grace that is to be brought unto you at the revelation of Jesus Christ.

Barnes explains further…

Wherefore gird up the loins of your mindThe allusion here is to the manner in which the Orientals were accustomed to dress. They wear loose, flowing robes, so that, when they wish to run, or to fight, or to apply themselves to any business, they are obliged to bind their garments close around them.  The meaning here is, that they were to have their minds in constant preparation to discharge the duties, or to endure the trials of life – like those who were prepared for labor, for a race, or for a conflict.

And then I did a little study about girding up the loins and Barnes explains what this means too (I’m really liking this Barnes guy!)…

the girdle (belt) was the place of the pouch Mat_10:9, and to it the sword and dirk were commonly attached. Compare 2Sa_20:8. In modern times the pistols are also fastened to the belt. It is the usual place for the handkerchief, smoking materials, inkhorn, and, in general, the implements of one’s profession. The belt served to confine the loose-flowing robe or outer garment to the body. It held the garment when it was tucked up, as it was usually in walking or in labor. Hence, “to gird up the loins” became a significant figurative expression, denoting readiness for service, activity, labor, and watchfulness; and “to loosen the loins” denoted the giving way to repose and indolence.

I guess my question to me is…”Am I wearing my belt tightly and do I have my sword in readiness for spiritual battle, or is my belt loose and have I lost the sword of Truth and all the other things needed for battle?” Even though I feel battle weary at times, I just pray that I still have a tight belt with all the tools I need as I enter night watch.

I also pray that tonight will be a better night and that little Oliver and his mum start to feel better!

4 thoughts on “How does your belt feel?

  1. Awww…I’m so sorry to read that little Oliver and his mommy are feeling lousy. They’re blessed to have you on watch. I hope recovery is swift.

    Thank you for sharing the fruits of your study and devotions (so apropos!); and all that under battle-weary pressure. Good food for thought.

    Like

  2. thanks girls 🙂

    Last night was a better night with Oliver but he still isn’t well. And his mum is still sick too. Now I have my other daughter with the same symptoms. I just hope that I can hold this flu off!

    This year hasn’t been as bad as the last two years, they were especially bad. But… summer is approaching so hopefully this is it as far as colds and flu’s go 🙂

    Like

  3. That’s the way it usually goes – you nurse everyone while they’re sick and then you get run down and catch it. At least you aren’t all sick at once!

    I like this post. Great comparison – as you had your ‘medical belt’ all girded up and ready. Funny how during times of sickness and worry God’s promises seem so much sweeter.

    I love this:

    “To love his law and gospel more than we do the decisions of our own minds.”

    When I make my own decisions I mess things up – I need to lean on His Word and His wisdom daily.

    I pray that your family all gets better fast, and that the nasty bug loses it’s strength before it gets to you. 🙂 Take care of yourself too, my friend.

    Like

Comments are closed.