You are what you eat…

I just finished this word study. This particular one was about false doctrine and it was amazing to me how it compared false doctrine to food. Of course we know that Jesus is the bread and water/wine of life. Whoever drinks from this eternal well will receive eternal life…Joh 4:14  but whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall become in him a well of water springing up unto eternal life.

We also know that He is the bread of life…Joh 6:35  Jesus said unto them, I am the bread of life: he that cometh to me shall not hunger, and he that believeth on me shall never thirst.

I am the bread of life – That is, the bread which gives life, and preserves from death. He that cometh to me – The person who receives my doctrine, and believes in me as the great atoning sacrifice, shall be perfectly satisfied, and never more feel misery of mind. All the guilt of his sins shall be blotted out, and his soul shall be purified unto God; and, being enabled to love him with all his heart, he shall rest, fully, supremely, and finally happy, in his God. [Clarke]

We are meant to feed on the Word of God and desire it…1Pe 2:2-3  as newborn babes, long for the spiritual milk which is without guile, that ye may grow thereby unto salvation;  if ye have tasted that the Lord is gracious

With that in mind I found out what was meant by bad spiritual food…

Isa 32:6  For the fool will speak folly, and his heart will work iniquity, to practise profaneness, and to utter error against Jehovah, to make empty the soul of the hungry, and to cause the drink of the thirsty to fail.

to make empty the soul of the hungry; and he will cause the drink of the thirsty to fail; the “hungry” and “thirsty” are such as hunger and thirst after, and earnestly desire, the sincere milk of the word for their spiritual nourishment and growth; whose “souls” become “empty”, and their “drink” fails, when the doctrines of grace are not dispensed unto them, but false and unedifying doctrines are delivered, so that their souls sink and faint, and are ready to die away, for want of the bread of the Gospel; agreeably to this sense, the Targum paraphrases the words thus,  “to make the soul of the righteous weary, who desire doctrine, as a hungry man bread; and the words of the law, which are as water to him that is thirsty, they think to cause to cease.” [Gill]

Amo 8:11  Behold, the days come, saith the Lord Jehovah, that I will send a famine in the land, not a famine of bread, nor a thirst for water, but of hearing the words of Jehovah.

Not a famine for bread – He does not deny that there should be bodily famine too; but this, grievous as it is, would be less grievous than the famine of which he speaks, “the famine of the word of the Lord.” [Barnes]

Mat 16:11  How is it that ye do not perceive that I spake not to you concerning bread? But beware of the leaven of the Pharisees and Sadducees.
Mat 16:12  Then understood they that he bade them not beware of the leaven of bread, but of the teaching of the Pharisees and Sadducees.

Then understood they (tote sunēkan). First aorist active indicative of suniēmi, to grasp, to comprehend. They saw the point after this elaborate rebuke and explanation that by “leaven” Jesus meant “teaching.” [Robertson’s word pictures]

The leaven of the Pharisees and Sadducees – Leaven is used in making bread. It passes secretly, silently, but certainly through the mass of dough. “None can see its progress.” So it was with the doctrines of the Pharisees. They were insinuating, artful, plausible. They concealed the real tendency of their doctrines; they instilled them secretly into the mind, until they pervaded all the faculties like leaven. [Barnes]

6 thoughts on “You are what you eat…

  1. Oh, the desrcription of the commentator (Gill) of the hungry soul… 😦 How very tragic.

    Are you using E-Sword by any chance? 🙂

    Like

    • tee hee heee. Yes, I love that tool. Do you use it? I also have the Thompson Chain Reference Bible in soft copy. The best bible for topical chains throughout the Word of God. It has soooo many topics and is an amazing tool for deep study!

      Like

  2. That description was tragic…I never applied the famine to the righteous, but rather, to a godless people, as a form of judgment, who wouldn’t miss His Word in the first place. But, come to think of it, that’s exactly what happened to those who were shut away behind the iron & bamboo curtains – the Word became precious, worth dying for. Woe to us who are “rich”!

    I’ve been thinking about the Thompson Chain Ref lately: is there such thing as the book w/just the Chain-References (like a concordance) without the scripture, since I don’t need to add yet another bible to my shelves? E-Sword sounds rich, too. On top of that, Carla just turned me on to ICR’s Bible (complete with Henry Morris’ commentary). Truth be told, navigating it is a real booger for my tecnhnically-challenged mind, but the notes (particularly the scientific explanations) are worth it.

    Thanks, Vee, for sharing the fruits of your labor with us.

    Like

    • Pearl, I’ve never heard of the ICR bible. Just to let you know…e-sword is a free bible software that you can download to your pc. It’s a must have! You can do word searches in many different translations. You have many commentaries and strongs dictionary, as well as many others. It is the most useful tool I have apart from my Thompson Chain.

      I am not sure if you can get the chain reference like Thompson without scripture. But I wouldn’t be without mine. It certainly unlocks many passages and there are other study notes and many other tools in the back of the bible. I have a KJ and I am considering quite seriously to get another one but in American Standard.

      Like

  3. Yes I use e-sword and love it! It’s the first thing opened in the morning for my devotional reading/study/prayer time. I have a Thompson chain too 🙂

    I agree with Pearl.. thank you so much for sharing all your discoveries with us!!

    Blessings.

    Like

Comments are closed.