Liberation Theology – Google books

Have any of you used google books? I have just come across it and thought it was a pretty useful tool for all of my research. Because I am researching the topic of Liberation Theology, I have found an interesting book called “The Political Theory of Liberation theology” by John R Pottenger. I found this book by googling “Liberation Theology” and “Process Theology” together. I hadn’t heard about “Process Theology” until I researched McLaren’s book “A New Christianity” which brought me to some critical reviews on amazon.

I thought I would try to post and embed the link from this online book that I am going through at the moment. So, if it does not work, [hmmmpppfff… it didn’t work so I have just given you the link in the books title above] I will just give you a run down on a chapter called “Praxis” which can be found on page 54.

Page 54 and forward is what I really want to sink my teeth into today, as mentioned above it’s all about praxis. It talks about how liberation theologians can only really understand a one world realm and do not accept a dualistic one. And this one world realm includes and manifests both the transcendent and immanent world at the same time.

It also says that the Church instead of acting as a change agent in this world, instead pacifies the current political status quo. [ my thoughts on this is the following: I am thinking of McLaren and many like him who live in the west who I would assume to be middle class. In which case the status quo, according to liberation theologians, should be challenging a capitalist society and private ownership in favour of big government. Big government would hope to adhere to a version of biblical social justice if Restorationists and Dominionists had their way. Working out what biblical social justice is and is not is debateable in a multi-cultural and politically correct climate.]

It says the Church has elevated individual salvation and justice in the next life as opposed to bringing it to earth via a modus operandi in an already functioning system. I am pretty sure that would be economic, political and religious. [watch a small clip HERE to find out more about this three legged stool]

Liberation theology since it does not adhere to dualism sees that political liberation is understood as an aspect of eschatological liberation. And that  becomes the pretext for modern Christians to plunge into the complex and conflict-ridden world of the poor. As a consequence, this type of thinking rightly and naturally flows into a revolutionary vision…

It goes on to say that a radical Christian who sees their role as subversive must call for nothing less than permanent revolution is all areas of life.

Phew, that is what I learnt today … the next chapter then follows onto hermeneutics.

8 thoughts on “Liberation Theology – Google books

  1. Wow… I need to read that again slowly, it’s wanting to go right over the top of my head and I want to understand. Okay – read it again. This topic continues to be a real eye opener. It really provides a level of transparancy to the behaviors of ‘christians’ and politicians in my country that prior to this I found so baffling! There is such an element of pride and idolotry involved. I’m so glad the pure gospel is simple 🙂

    Like

    • It should be simple enough for a child to understand! It is a fascinating topic though, and certainly makes you understand all that is going on with the Church and government. I plan to read a bit more on it and blog about what I have learned along the way.

      Lorrie, do you use google books? Also there is something called google scholar which brings up scholarly papers which I find interesting. 🙂

      Like

      • Last year, I discovered google books quite by accident – I was thinking “This is too good! Now I don’t have to buy this junk I’m researching – or go to the library!” Haven’t used it since, though. I think it’s a great tool. Google scholar sounds like another invaluable service – glad to know it’s there.

        You sure have your work cut out for you! Thank you for keeping us informed.

        Like

        • I still have to go through that PDF file by DeYoung. That looks really good. In fact the reviewer of McLaren’s new book that I linked to a few posts ago suggested that everyone should read that essay by DeYoung to get a grasp of where McLaren is coming from. I am sooo glad that others have done extensive homework on McLaren and others like him. It wouldn’t be easy because the post-modern/emerging/purpose driven advocates skirt around core issues, like shifting sand!

          Pearl, what is it that you are researching at the moment?

          Like

  2. You mean my time spent with google books? That was about a year ago. I was looking into a book that a certain creationist was recommending (no one on your or my links), which had disturbing and frightening teachings regarding works: and that if a Christian didn’t get in enough works for the Lord, then he would be cast into outer darkness – a type of purgatory for Protestants. This was waaaay before my blog was even thought of, but I did give him a piece of my mind regarding the recommendation. Didn’t do any good, of course – “Thank you for your concern.” was the response. 😯

    Like

    • hmmmm… purgatory for protestants. I wonder if that will rear its head again especially considering there are protestant rosary beads now being advertised. Have you seen Carla’s post on this.

      Have you been researching anything interesting recently?

      Like

      • Yes! I did see her post…first place I go to in the morning!

        I leave the grueling research to you “professionals”. At my place, the “theme” is based on Phillipians 4:8…merely a place of refuge for weary laborers. It’s hard to come up with stuff that fits that mold…I tend to reach back to the “golden oldies”, as all the teachers I’ve put up thus far are now in the presence of our Lord. They’re out there to be sure…but they have to fit the parameters of Phil.4:8.

        Like

Comments are closed.