Stuff about John Crowder…

Here’s a shocker: The false gospel of John Crowder, Benjamin Dunn, and Sloshfest originated from an LSD drug-induced experience.

Before addressing the lively Welsh crowd, the 6ft 5in David Blaine lookalike tells me he became a Christian after a Godly experience on LSD. John, 33, from California, says: “I was a party guy at college and became an alcoholic within the first year, sometimes downing up to 36 beers in a single day. I also did recreational drugs and during an LSD trip in a bar I had a profound encounter with God. I knew that if I went to sleep that night without changing my ways, I would surely die.”When I sobered up I stopped doing drugs and became devoted to Jesus. “Now I want people to see that church isn’t dour and dreary. It is an awareness of the mystical, fun and joyful nature of God.”

Once you’ve read that article there is another one written by Jackie Alnor worth reading…

This is Not That: An Analysis of John Crowder’s “The New Mystics”

Although The New Mystics was written in 2006, Crowder was fairly unknown until he took to YouTube during Lakeland with his blasphemous video, “Tokin’ the ghost,” in which he simulates smoking a joint as if filling up on the Holy Spirit. In fact, throughout the book Crowder consistently uses unseemly things to compare to the power of whatever spirit he imbibes. He compares his spiritual highs to getting “loaded,” “buzzed,” “plastered,” “sloshed,” and to heroine.

 

Do you reckon that the Church is in trouble or not?

5 thoughts on “Stuff about John Crowder…

Comments are closed.