Brian McLaren fasts during Ramadan…

I reckon I am going to have to put up a new category on my blog called “Interfaith” soon.

Okay, done it!

Anyway, this is the latest from Brian McLaren’s site about his experience during his Ramadan fast…

My fasting partner Eboo Patel writes about interfaith solidarity as well as anyone on the planet, because he lives it through Interfaith Youth Core. He talks about our shared fasting experience here. Quotable:

I hope this interfaith solidarity during Ramadan is a sign of the times. I pray that we are moving towards a world in which people are rooted in their own traditions but find dimensions to admire and learn from in others, that Ramadan is a time during which people from a variety of backgrounds come together in the common purpose of growing closer to God and one another. That is the heart of Islam, of all of our faiths and traditions. Ramadan 2009: Day 10 – Brian McLaren

I am sure that it is a sign of the times to be honest with you. It’s called the Great Falling away. In fact, the actual term for this in the Greek is ‘apostasia’

apostasia
ap-os-tas-ee’-ah
Feminine of the same as G647; defection from truth (properly the state), (“apostasy”): – falling away, forsake.

The root of it means divorce.

So… the Bride has divorced herself from the Truth only found in Christ Jesus.

You bet this is a sign of the times, I agree wholeheartedly!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
