Cremation or Burial?

crosses

I just went over to Lorrie’s blog and she has a post asking the question about cremation vs burial.  I have to say that this question has been somewhat of a stumbling block for me over the years. In fact, I have wondered why cremation has become so popular in the West at all? Is it a space issue, is is the fear of being buried alive? I don’t know to be honest with you.

Anyway, Lorrie posts something that she discovered about how God deals with the dead…

I know that the Master of the universe is able to gather and restore every particle of one’s physical body no matter it’s final demise. To be absent from the body is to be present with the Lord! I was not concerned.

Then one morning as I was reading my bible I came across the passage where God has Moses up on a mountain telling him he’s going to die. I’ve read it numerous times but when I came to the following verses I saw what I had never seen before…

So Moses the servant of the LORD died there in the land of Moab, according to the word of the LORD. And He buried him in a valley in the land of Moab, opposite Beth Peor; but no one knows his grave to this day. Deut. 34:5-6

Did you catch it? God B U R I E D Moses. Grow Up Deep: Would God Bury You?

Also, it seems that being buried in the earth may symbolise Christ being buried in the earth and waiting His resurrection just as we await ours…

Cremation destroys the truth and beauty of the thought of the close connection between the resurrection of Christ and that of the believer. Cremation puts Scripture sadly out of joint. Think of the time-honoured Scripture that has been read over the graves of hundreds of thousands of God’s saints. Please note particularly the “IT” repeated eight times in this precious Scripture, connecting the body sown with the body raised. There can be no resurrection unless what is committed to the Lord in death is raised literally. This is beyond human understanding, yet the believer relies on “the power of God,” and the plain teaching of Scripture.

“IT is sown in corruption; IT is raised in incorruption; IT is sown in dishonour; IT is raised in glory; IT is sown in weakness; IT is raised in power; IT is sown a natural body; IT is raised a spiritual body.” (1 Cor. 15:42-44)

How these verses are robbed of their beautiful meaning, if read over a coffin, about to be propelled by invisible machinery into a blazing furnace, and reduced to ashes in a couple of hours or less. Surely we do well to avoid a practice that weakens the meaning and comfort of Scripture at a time when hearts are torn with grief, and need all the comfort they can get in their hour of need. [source]

The above article makes a lot of sense to me. It’s not about whether or not you think that God can gather your ashes that have blown away in the wind, it’s more about the symbolic meaning of burial.

On a completely random side note…

An Australian scientist called Wednesday for an end to the age-old tradition of cremation, saying the practice contributed to global warming.

Professor Roger Short said people could instead choose to help the environment after death by being buried in a cardboard box under a tree. [source]

What I would like to do is put up a poll on the Cremation vs Burial question. If you would like to comment on this issue or raise some important points please do in the comment section of this blog.

[Please only answer if you are a Christian]

4 thoughts on “Cremation or Burial?

  1. I appreciate the thoughts and resources you have provided so much! You know, I just never really considered this subject to be a very important issue. I don’t know why. It makes me wonder why my western culture HAS adopted such a ho-hum stance, leaning so acceptably to cremation.
    I am so thankful for God’s nudges. It is amazing to me that already, after personal revelation of the issue that I feel so quickly removed from the idea of cremation.
    After reading your comments (teaching 🙂 about it I am very grateful as well.
    You’re a gem… bless you sister!

    Like

  2. Hi Vee,
    Our family decided to cremate our Mom when she died, and Dad will also when he passes away. Dad made this decision along with our family because of the cost factor. He prefers burial, but the cost issue is huge out here. We did bury moms ashes in a graveyard plot, and had a graveside service just like a burial, but the plot was smaller. I understand what you are saying about identifying with Jesus, but for some people it is not economically possible.

    Like

    • Dawn, cost does come into it this day and age too. It’s not like you can be buried in your backyard is it 🙂

      It’s a very, very personal decision that each of us have to make. Cremation hasn’t been outlined as a sin in the bible at all.

      And I have no doubt whatsoever that those who have died in Christ and have been cremated are going to enjoy meeting Christ and their loved ones once resurrected.

      Take care

      Vee

      Like

Comments are closed.