Truth Misunderstood…

jesus_feeds_the_5000

Subjective truth is pretty much the mantra of today. Yet it just so happens that Truth was Misunderstood during Christ’s 1st coming:

Christ’s Bodily Temple was confused with the earthly temple:

Joh 2:20  The Jews then said, "It has taken forty-six years to build this temple, and will you raise it up in three days?"
Joh 2:21  But he was speaking about the temple of his body.

Joh 2:22  When therefore he was raised from the dead, his disciples remembered that he had said this, and they believed the Scripture and the word that Jesus had spoken.

The New Birth confused with the physical birth:

Joh 3:4  Nicodemus said to him, "How can a man be born when he is old? Can he enter a second time into his mother’s womb and be born?"
Joh 3:5  Jesus answered, "Truly, truly, I say to you, unless one is born of water and the Spirit, he cannot enter the kingdom of God.

The Water of Life confused with the physical water:

Joh 4:13  Jesus said to her, "Everyone who drinks of this water will be thirsty again,
Joh 4:14  but whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again. The water that I will give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life."
Joh 4:15  The woman said to him, "Sir, give me this water, so that I will not be thirsty or have to come here to draw water."

Spiritual Nourishment confused with food:

Joh 4:32  But he said to them, "I have food to eat that you do not know about."
Joh 4:33  So the disciples said to one another, "Has anyone brought him something to eat?"
Joh 4:34  Jesus said to them, "My food is to do the will of him who sent me and to accomplish his work.
Joh 4:35  Do you not say, ‘There are yet four months, then comes the harvest’? Look, I tell you, lift up your eyes, and see that the fields are white for harvest.

Absorbing Christ’s Spirit confused with eating his body and drinking his blood:

Joh 6:51  I am the living bread that came down from heaven. If anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever. And the bread that I will give for the life of the world is my flesh."
Joh 6:52  The Jews then disputed among themselves, saying, "How can this man give us his flesh to eat?"
Joh 6:53  So Jesus said to them, "Truly, truly, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you have no life in you.

Christ’s Departure confused with suicide:

Joh 8:21  So he said to them again, "I am going away, and you will seek me, and you will die in your sin. Where I am going, you cannot come."
Joh 8:22  So the Jews said, "Will he kill himself, since he says, ‘Where I am going, you cannot come’?"

Spiritual Bondage confused with physical slavery:

Joh 8:31  So Jesus said to the Jews who had believed in him, "If you abide in my word, you are truly my disciples,
Joh 8:32  and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free."
Joh 8:33  They answered him, "We are offspring of Abraham and have never been enslaved to anyone. How is it that you say, ‘You will become free’?"

Clearly the real message that Jesus was trying to get out wasn’t an humanitarian one but a much deeper one. One of eternal Salvation!

In fact, when I did this small study and I looked for a picture for this post, I immediately thought of Jesus feeding the 5000. That miracle clearly illustrates that Jesus is the Bread of Life and in Him we have everlasting life and nourishment. When we come together and break bread and partake of it we remember what he did for us on the cross:

1Co 11:24  and when he had given thanks, he broke it, and said, "This is my body which is for you. Do this in remembrance of me."

Just a little bit of Food for thought.

